Agency Administration

Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education Logo

OneNet is a division of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. The State Regents provides leadership for OneNet through our executive director, who also serves as the state’s higher education chief information officer.

The Oklahoma State System of Higher Education was created in 1941 by a vote of the people that amended the state’s constitution to provide for such a system.

The state system is comprised of 25 colleges and universities – including two research universities, 10 regional universities, one public liberal arts university and 12 community colleges – and 11 constituent agencies and one higher education center. The state system is coordinated by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, and each institution is governed by a board of regents.

The State Regents prescribe academic standards of higher education, determine functions and programs of study at state colleges and universities, grant degrees, request appropriations on behalf of state system institutions, set tuition and fees, approve institutional allocations and, upon review, provide final approval of institutional budgets following governing board approval and submission.

The State Regents also manage scholarships and special programs. In addition to OneNet, the Regents also operate the Oklahoma College Assistance Program, which provides college access, aid awareness, financial literacy and student loan management programs and services for students and parents.

For more information about the State System of Higher Education, contact the communications department at or 405.225.9100.